Michael Bonallack

Michael Bonallack (5 Amateur's, 9 Walker Cup's)


Sir Michael Francis BonallackOBE (born 31 December 1934) is an English amateur golfer who was one of the leading administrators in world golf in the late 20th century.[1]

Bonallack was born in Chigwell, Essex. He learned the game of golf under the tutelage of head professional Bert Hodson at Chigwell[2] and soon won the British Boys Championship in 1952. A rare example of an outstanding golfer who remained an amateur in the era when professional domination of the sport became firmly entrenched, he went on to win the Amateur Championship and the English Amateur five times each and the Brabazon Trophy four times. He was a member of nine Walker Cup teams and played in the Eisenhower Trophy seven times. His best finish at the Open Championship was eleventh in 1959. He was the leading amateur at the Open in 1968 and 1971.

He was secretary (i.e. chief executive) of the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews, which runs The Open Championship and sets the rules of golf in partnership with the United States Golf Association, from 1984 to 1999, and as Captain of the Royal and Ancient Golf Club in 2000. He has also been President of the Golf Club Managers' Association (1974–84), Chairman of the PGA of Great Britain and Ireland (1976–81), Chairman of the Golf Foundation (1977–82), and President of the English Golf Union (1982).

He is the current President of the British and International Golf Greenkeepers Association (BIGGA) and also served as President of the One Armed Golfers Society, the Professional Golfers Association of Europe and as Chairman of the advisory committee for the Official World Golf Rankings.[3] He is also President of the National Association of Public and Proprietary Golf Courses (NAPGC).

Bonallack received an OBE for services to golf in 1971, and was created a Knight Bachelor in 1998.[4] In 1972, he was voted the Bob Jones Award, the highest honour given by the United States Golf Association in recognition of distinguished sportsmanship in golf. He is a member of Augusta National Golf Club,[5] and has received numerous honours from golfing organisations around the world, culminating in his induction into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2000.

Europe and the Asia-Pacific play for the Sir Michael Bonallack Trophy every two years. The teams consist of 12 amateur golfers and no more than two players can be from the same country.